Diversity Equity and Inclusion Committee - Orleans Community Health

diversity Equity & Inclusion Committee

In 2022, Orleans Community Health (OCH) launched a Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DE&I) Committee, which brings individuals from the public together with team members of OCH to serve all members of our community.

The list of current objectives for the committee includes:

  • To define diversity, equity and inclusion and how each relates to Orleans Community Health.
  • To cultivate a culture of diversity, equity, and inclusion in the facility and community.
  • To identify, share, and facilitate opportunities for learning and self- growth within the facility and community.
Angie Doval, Emily Stavange, Nadine Wright-Johnson, Kim Gray, Freddrica Fuentes, Leighann VanAuker, Victor Doval (front). Members of the committee not pictured: Jessica Marciano, Jessica Dittly, and Scott Robinson

“Building an inclusive environment both internally and with our neighbors is our commitment. As we continue to expand the services we provide to our community, we want all people to feel welcome and proud that we are their health care provider. The DE&I steering committee began meeting in 2022 to determine goals that would guide future planning. I’m happy with the direction things are going and the input we’ve received from those in the community.”

-Marc Shurtz, CEO of Orleans Community Health

“I think it’s great that we were able to get this committee off the ground and immediately work on ways that OCH can serve and represent everyone. That means everyone, whether you’re a veteran, disabled, part of the LGBTQ community, of a certain age, religious group, or ethnic background. This committee represents a way that we can work with our partners in the community to better represent everyone, which is what we should always strive for.”

-Freddrica Fuentes, Director of Nutritional Services at Orleans Community Health and one of the founders of the committee

Members of the Committee: Emily Stavange, Angie Doval, Jessica Marciano, and Jessica Dittly from the community; and Leighann VanAuker, Victor Doval, Freddrica Fuentes, Nadine Wright-Johnson, Scott Robinson, and Kim Gray from Orleans Community Health.